Skip to content
CareRulebook
MenuClose

Where are you starting?

United StatesTexas, North Carolina, Georgia, Virginia, Indiana, Ohio, Illinois, Washington, Colorado, Tennessee, Maryland
TexasManual
North CarolinaManual
GeorgiaManual
VirginiaManual
IndianaManual
OhioGuide
IllinoisManual
WashingtonManual
ColoradoManual
TennesseeManual
MarylandGuideAll US states →
United KingdomEngland
Free toolsChecklists, calculators and templates

Tennessee · Caregivers · 0940-05-38-.07(2), .08

Tennessee caregiver training: seven areas before work, then every year

Tennessee sets training topics, not hours. Before working with clients, each caregiver shows basic competency in seven areas, has the language skills to read instructions and keep records, and has documented training in the services they will give. Then training on each client’s needs, job-related training every year and a yearly performance evaluation. A registered nurse is needed only for medication assistance training.

  • Rule-verified October 2, 2026
  • Quoted from Tenn. Comp. R. & Regs. 0940-05-38-.07 and .08
  • And TDMHSAS’s 2025 PSSA guidance
A caregiver in a teal polo shirt practises hand washing at a round table while a man in a blue shirt ticks a clipboard, under a whiteboard reading 7 areas before the first visit, beside a CareRulebook binder, a box of gloves and a sticky note reading Training every year, with wooded mountain ridges outside the window

Quick answer

The training rule opens: "The licensee shall ensure and document that:" "Individuals who provide personal support services demonstrate basic competency in the following skill/knowledge areas prior to beginning work with service recipients", seven of them (0940-05-38-.08(1)(a)). Workers also "receive training on job related topics at least annually" (.08(1)(c)), and get documented training specific to each client’s needs (.08(1)(d)).

There is no hour minimum and no state curriculum for personal support workers. The only training a nurse must give is medication assistance training, by or under the general supervision of a registered nurse (.08(1)(b)). TDMHSAS lists competency before work and RN-supervised medication assistance training among its common PSSA rule deficiencies (PSSA slides 12-16).

7 areas

of basic competency shown before work with clients

0940-05-38-.08(1)(a)

8 topics

your written personnel policies must address

0940-05-38-.07(2)

Yearly

job-related training, with no hour minimum

0940-05-38-.08(1)(c)

20 hours

DDA’s optional medication administration class

PSSA slide 21

From hire to first visit, and every year after

The training duties in the order a new worker meets them. The background checks run alongside: caregiver background checks. Tick steps off as you go; progress is saved in this browser only.

  1. Hire workers aged 18 or older

    At hire

    Your personnel policies must say that all personal support services workers are 18 or older, and each personnel file holds the worker’s date of birth.

  2. Train and check competency in seven areas

    Before work with clients

    Each worker shows basic competency in seven skill and knowledge areas before beginning work with clients, and you document it. The seven areas.

    0940-05-38-.08(1)(a)
  3. Check language skills and give the service training

    Before providing services

    Language skills to read and understand instructions, keep written reports and records, and communicate with the client, plus documented training in self-care, household management, community living and service methods.

    0940-05-38-.07(2)(f)
  4. Train for the tasks the worker will do

    Before the task

    Medication assistance training by, or under the general supervision of, a registered nurse before any medication assistance; lift and gait belt training before any use of those devices.

  5. Train on each client’s needs

    Before each new client (our timing)

    Documented training specific to meeting the client’s needs in self-care, household management and community living, and the methods for delivering their services. The rule sets no timing; CareRulebook’s manual does it before the worker’s first visit to each client.

    0940-05-38-.08(1)(d)
  6. Train on job-related topics every year

    Every year

    At least annually, documented. The rules set no hours and no topic list.

    0940-05-38-.08(1)(c)
  7. Evaluate every worker every year

    Every year

    An annual performance evaluation report assessing, at a minimum, the worker’s ability to provide daily supports to clients. TDMHSAS lists missing evaluations among its common deficiencies.

    0940-05-38-.07(1)(g)

Basic competency in seven areas, before work

The licensee ensures and documents that "Individuals who provide personal support services demonstrate basic competency in the following skill/knowledge areas prior to beginning work with service recipients" (0940-05-38-.08(1)(a)):

  1. Observing, reporting and documenting changes in the client’s daily living skills.
  2. Abuse, neglect and exploitation: detection, reporting and prevention.
  3. Client rights.
  4. Universal health precautions, including infection control.
  5. How to help clients with personal hygiene.
  6. Client safety.
  7. Emergency and disaster procedures, which at least include "emergency transportation, emergency medical care and staff coverage in such events" (.08(1)(a)7).

TDMHSAS puts this rule on its list of common PSSA deficiencies (PSSA slide 16); how TDMHSAS inspects is on Tennessee PSSA inspections. The rule asks for demonstrated competency, documented, not only attendance.

What the rule leaves to you

The rule sets no hours, no pass mark, no test and no form for showing competency, and TDMHSAS has not published one. CareRulebook’s manual trains each area, then checks it: questions or a short written quiz for the knowledge areas, and a watched demonstration for hand hygiene, gloves and help with personal hygiene, practised on another staff member or training equipment, never first on a client. Every line of the checklist is marked "competent" before the worker starts. That pass standard is the manual’s, not TDMHSAS’s.

If a worker comes with training from somewhere else, by our reading your agency still has to ensure and document their competency itself, so the manual runs its own checklist for everyone.

The eight personnel-policy topics

"The licensee shall have written personnel policies." They must address at least eight topics, (a) to (h) (0940-05-38-.07(2)). Several are training duties, and every worker should know them all.

ItemThe policy must addressNote
.07(2)(a)Workers are 18 or olderDate of birth in each file
.07(2)(b)Infection control and standard precautionsAlso one of the seven competency areas
.07(2)(c)Criminal background check timingBackground checks
.07(2)(d)Abuse Registry, yearly and before contactThe two registries
.07(2)(e)Sex Offender Registry, yearly and before contactThe two registries
.07(2)(f)Language skills and documented training before workThe training topic on this page
.07(2)(g)Access to consultation for any serviceA registered nurse, other agency staff or the primary family caregiver
.07(2)(h)No borrowing, receiving or taking client money or propertyCover it in training; by our reading it includes gifts

Item (f) in full. Before providing services, the worker demonstrates "Language skills sufficient to read and understand instructions; prepare and maintain written reports and records", "Language skills sufficient to communicate with the service recipient", and "Documented training specific to meeting individual service recipient needs in the area of self-care, household management and community living, and methodologies for service delivery" (0940-05-38-.07(2)(f)1-3). The rule does not say how to check language skills. CareRulebook’s manual has the worker read a sample service plan and explain it, write a sample visit note, and talk a visit through with the evaluator; where a client mainly speaks another language, only workers who can communicate with them are scheduled.

Item (g), consultation. "Personal support services workers shall have access to consultation for any of the services provided under this chapter." It "may include providing the personal support service worker access to or consultation with a registered nurse, other agency staff or the primary family caregiver" (.07(2)(g)). So workers need to know who to call, and when, from their first visit. CareRulebook’s manual covers this in Policy 4.7 with a consultation log.

The other written policies TDMHSAS checks are on Tennessee PSSA policies and procedures. CareRulebook’s manual restates all eight topics in one place, in the rule’s order, in Policy 4.1 (Personnel policies), with the procedures in the policies each topic points to.

Training for each client

The licensee ensures and documents "Documented training specific to meeting individual service recipient needs in the areas of self-care, household management and community living, and methodologies for service delivery." (0940-05-38-.08(1)(d)). The rule does not say when; by our reading it belongs before a worker’s first visit to that client, and again when the client’s needs change.

CareRulebook’s manual has the individual responsible, or whoever assessed the client, go through the service plan with each assigned worker before the first visit: the tasks and how the client likes them done, routines and preferences, communication needs, risks such as falls, any equipment, the emergency contact and the alternate staffing plan, and anything the worker must not do. The worker and the trainer sign a client-specific training record. That is the manual’s method; the rule only asks that the training be specific to the client and documented.

The rule names three areas, self-care, household management and community living. Whether an agency that offers only some of those services must still train on all three is not stated; it is on our list of questions for TDMHSAS.

Training and evaluation every year

  • Yearly training. "Individuals who provide personal support services receive training on job related topics at least annually" (0940-05-38-.08(1)(c)), documented under the opening words of .08(1). No hours, no topic list and no format are set.
  • Yearly performance evaluation. Each personnel file holds "Annual performance evaluation reports evaluating, at a minimum, the ability of personal support services workers to provide daily supports to service recipients" (.07(1)(g)). TDMHSAS lists this among its common deficiencies (PSSA slide 15).

CareRulebook’s manual asks you to count the training year by calendar year or from each worker’s start date, and always covers infection control, abuse and neglect, client rights and emergency procedures each year, adding topics from the year’s incidents, complaints, client evaluations and any rule changes. That topic list is the manual’s choice of how to meet the rule. Policy 4.7 holds the yearly evaluation form, which draws on clients’ six-monthly evaluations, the consultation log and the training records.

The CareRulebook Tennessee manual preview on a laptop: policy 2.7 on worker absence and alternate staffing plans for a sample agency, citing 0940-05-38-.06(1)(c), (q), with the manual’s contents listed beside it

CareRulebook

Training records written for your agency

CareRulebook’s Tennessee manual includes Policy 4.6 (Competency before work, client-specific and annual training): a training plan for the service areas, a seven-area competency checklist with a language skills check, a client-specific training record and a yearly training record, plus medication assistance training (Policy 2.11), lift and gait belt training (Policy 2.10) and yearly evaluations (Policy 4.7).

  • 32 policies, 107 requirements mapped
  • Competency before work and RN-supervised medication assistance training: both on TDMHSAS’s common deficiency list
  • Editable Word and print-ready PDF, with the rule quoted under each policy
Preview your manual

$199CareRulebook founding price for the first 50 Tennessee agencies, then $249. Not a TDMHSAS fee.

Medication assistance training: a registered nurse

Medication assistance means "providing medication reminders and opening medication packaging, but does not mean giving the service recipient injections or any form of medication or medication administration" reserved for people authorized under Title 63, Chapter 7 (0940-05-38-.01(9)). If your workers give it, two rules apply:

  • "Individuals who provide medication assistance receive documented training in medication assistance performed by, or under the general supervision of, a registered nurse and consistent with T.C.A. § 63-7-102" (.08(1)(b)).
  • "Medication assistance training shall be provided to personal support services workers prior to providing assistance and training shall be documented in the personal support service worker’s record." (.06(1)(l)2).

TDMHSAS adds: "No. A PA cannot approve medication-assistance training." (PSSA slide 24). The RN-supervised training is on TDMHSAS’s common deficiency list (slide 14), and so is the client’s written authorization for medication assistance in the client record (.09(1)(n)).

The training should cover what medication assistance includes, in the rule’s seven examples, such as "Opening pill reminder box if the box is filled by the service recipient or authorized representative or licensed medical personnel practicing within the scope of their license" (.01(9)(a)-(g)), and what it does not: TDMHSAS lists filling medication planners, giving oral medications and applying ointments among the tasks not allowed under the PSSA license (slides 25-27); for staff with the medication administration certification below, it says to ask DDA’s certification program. Adding medicine to a nebulizer counts as medication administration (slide 23).

The rule also says the training must be consistent with T.C.A. 63-7-102. We could not save that statute, so we cannot tell you what it asks of the nurse or the curriculum; that is on our list of questions for a nurse and a Tennessee lawyer. How often to re-check competency is not stated either; CareRulebook’s manual suggests, as Recommended practice, that the nurse (or the person trained under the nurse’s supervision) watch each worker give medication assistance once a year. If you do not offer medication assistance, the PSSA rules require no nurse for training at all (.08(1)).

Medication administration certification (optional)

Since Public Chapter 730 of 2024: "An unlicensed person who is employed by a personal support service agency (PSSA) licensed under title 33 may administer medications to an individual who is incapable of self-administration in the individual’s place of residence after the unlicensed person satisfactorily completes a competency-based training program approved by the department of mental health and substance abuse services." (Public Chapter 730 (2024), section 2). Certified staff may still not give "intravenous, intramuscular, or certain subcutaneous injectable medications, as defined by rule" (section 3). This is separate from medication assistance training, and optional.

PointWhat TDMHSAS or DDA saysSource
Approved trainingTDMHSAS has approved the Department of Disability and Aging’s Medication Administration classes; other programs may be approved later.PSSA slide 21
Who can enrollPeople working for agencies licensed by TDMHSAS as a PSSA, or meeting other eligibility criteria; registrations are checked before attendance.PSSA slide 21
Cost and termFor PSSAs that do not support people with intellectual and developmental disabilities: $50 per participant for the 20-hour class and $25 for the Test-Out renewal, set by DDA (DDA’s fees, not ours). Certification is valid for three years.PSSA slide 21
FormatClasses may be taught by webinar; initial certification needs the current curriculum and 20 hours of class time.DDA, Medication Administration
Passing80% or better on the written test and competency in at least three skills. From the third attempt, DDA bills the agency $5 for a test-out and $50 for class testing (DDA’s charges).DDA agency guidelines · retest charges
RenewingDDA’s agency guidelines encourage enrolling staff up to six months before the certificate expires (an older DDA presentation says 45 days, so confirm with DDA). Staff must stop administering medication when it expires.DDA agency guidelines
Working before certificationStaff can start work before the class, provided they do not administer medication.DDA, Medication Administration

What TDMHSAS asks of your agency. Notify the assigned TDMHSAS surveyor; keep each worker’s certificate in the personnel file; develop and implement a Medication Safety Policy (DDA has a sample); make sure staff understand the certification and its expectations. (PSSA slide 22). TDMHSAS says it intends to make PSSA rules on medication administration and will notify licensed PSSAs when they are filed; none had been filed when we checked on October 2, 2026 (slide 22). CareRulebook’s manual includes Policy 2.12 (Medication administration by certified staff (Medication Safety Policy)) only for agencies whose certified staff will give medication, and the policy notes that TDMHSAS’s own rules are still to come.

Lifts and gait belts: training first

Every agency needs a policy on "use of devices such as a hoyer lift or gait belt, after training, to assist the service recipient in getting out of or into bed, a chair, toilet or shower but not as part of a therapeutic regimen" (0940-05-38-.06(1)(n)). It is on TDMHSAS’s common deficiency list (PSSA slide 12).

The training record matters after an accident: "If the accident occurred during a transfer, provide a copy of the equipment training that the caregiver received." (PSSA slide 41). The rule sets no qualification for the person who trains. CareRulebook’s manual records each worker’s training on each device on a lift and gait belt training and competency record (Policy 2.10); if you do not use these devices, the policy says so and covers what workers do instead.

What Tennessee does not require

  • A TB test. "Are PSSA workers/caregivers required to have a TB skin test? No. This is not a Licensure requirement." (PSSA slide 28)
  • CPR certification. "Are PSSA workers/caregivers required to be certified in CPR? No. This is not a Licensure requirement." (slide 29) TDMHSAS adds that other entities you contract with may require either, so check your contracts.
  • Set hours, a state curriculum or a certification. Chapter 0940-05-38 asks for competency, language skills and documented training, not a course length or a credential (0940-05-38-.08(1)).
  • A nurse on staff. Only medication assistance training, and the optional education services, need a registered nurse (.01(6); .08(1)(b)).

Our suggestion: consider first aid and CPR training anyway. CareRulebook’s manual includes it as Recommended practice, labelled as not a TDMHSAS requirement.

Myths about Tennessee caregiver training

Do Tennessee PSSA caregivers need a set number of training hours?

No. Chapter 0940-05-38 sets topics, not hours. Before working with clients, each worker shows basic competency in seven areas, and the agency documents it; workers also get training on each client’s needs and job-related training at least once a year. Only the optional medication administration certification has hours (DDA’s 20-hour class).

"Individuals who provide personal support services demonstrate basic competency in the following skill/knowledge areas prior to beginning work with service recipients:"

Do Tennessee PSSA caregivers need a TB test or CPR certification?

No. Not for the TDMHSAS license. TDMHSAS says neither a TB skin test nor CPR certification is a licensure requirement, though a contract (for example with a Medicaid managed care organization) may require them. The rules do require competency in seven areas before work, including infection control, client safety and emergency procedures, and yearly job-related training.

"Are PSSA workers/caregivers required to have a TB skin test? No. This is not a Licensure requirement."

Can a physician assistant sign off my caregivers’ medication assistance training?

No. TDMHSAS says a physician assistant cannot approve medication assistance training. The rule requires documented training given by, or under the general supervision of, a registered nurse, before a worker gives any medication assistance.

"No. A PA cannot approve medication-assistance training."

Can my PSSA caregivers fill pill organizers or give medication?

No. Not under the basic license. Medication assistance is limited to reminders and opening packaging, such as opening a pill box filled by the client, their representative or a licensed professional; TDMHSAS lists filling medication planners as not allowed. Since 2024, staff who complete a TDMHSAS-approved medication administration certification (DDA’s 20-hour class) may administer medication in the client’s home to a client who cannot self-administer, and TDMHSAS then asks for a Medication Safety Policy.

"Opening pill reminder box if the box is filled by the service recipient or authorized representative or licensed medical personnel practicing within the scope of their license;"

Frequently asked questions

How many hours of training do Tennessee home care caregivers need?

The PSSA rules set no hours. Before working with clients, each worker shows basic competency in seven areas, has the language skills to read instructions, keep records and talk with the client, and has documented training in self-care, household management, community living and service methods. Then training on each client’s needs, and job-related training at least once a year. Only the optional medication administration certification has set hours: DDA’s 20-hour class.

What are the seven competency areas for Tennessee PSSA caregivers?

Observing, reporting and documenting changes in a client’s daily living skills; detecting, reporting and preventing abuse, neglect and exploitation; client rights; universal health precautions, including infection control; helping with personal hygiene; client safety; and emergency and disaster procedures, including at least emergency transportation, emergency medical care and staff coverage.

Do Tennessee caregivers need to be CNAs?

No. Chapter 0940-05-38 asks for competency, language skills and documented training, not a certification. TDMHSAS also says a TB skin test and CPR certification are not licensure requirements, though a contract may ask for them.

Who can give medication assistance training?

A registered nurse, or someone working under a registered nurse’s general supervision, and the training is documented in the worker’s record before they give any medication assistance. TDMHSAS says a physician assistant cannot approve medication assistance training. The rule also says the training must be consistent with T.C.A. 63-7-102, a statute we could not save.

Can Tennessee caregivers give medication?

Not under the basic license: medication assistance means reminders and opening packaging. Since Public Chapter 730 (2024), an unlicensed PSSA employee may administer medication to a client who cannot self-administer, in the client’s home, after completing a competency-based training program approved by TDMHSAS. TDMHSAS has approved DDA’s Medication Administration classes.

Can caregiver training be online in Tennessee?

The PSSA rules do not say how training is given, only that competency is shown and training documented. Whatever course you use, your agency still has to ensure and document each worker’s competency in the seven areas. DDA says its medication administration classes may be taught by webinar.

Does a caregiver need training before each new client?

The rule requires documented training specific to meeting each client’s needs, without saying when. By our reading it belongs before the worker’s first visit to that client, and CareRulebook’s manual does it then, with a short record signed by the worker and the person who trained them.

Get Tennessee rule-change alerts

TDMHSAS has said PSSA medication administration rules are coming, and has proposed a rewrite of its licensure procedure rules, Chapter 0940-05-02 (hearing November 18, 2026). Leave your email and we will tell you when a Tennessee change affects your training or your policies.

No spam. Only emails about Tennessee home care rule changes. How we use your email.

Keep reading

Sources

  1. Tenn. Comp. R. & Regs. 0940-05-38, Minimum Program Requirements for Personal Support Services Agencies (rules effective June 2, 2016; December 2022 revised edition) · Tennessee Secretary of State, Publications Division (TDMHSAS rules) · retrieved October 1, 2026
  2. Public Chapter No. 730 (2024), amending T.C.A. 68-1-904, medication administration by unlicensed PSSA staff · Tennessee Secretary of State (Public Acts) · retrieved October 1, 2026
  3. Personal Support Services Agency (PSSA) Provider Information (2025 slide deck; file modified November 2025) · Tennessee Department of Mental Health and Substance Abuse Services, Office of Licensure · retrieved October 1, 2026
  4. Nursing: Medication Administration (classes, rules, forms, Medication Safety Policy Sample) · Tennessee Department of Disability and Aging · retrieved October 2, 2026
  5. Medication Administration Agency Guidelines and Medication Administration Standards · Tennessee Department of Disability and Aging · retrieved October 2, 2026
Build your Tennessee manualfrom $199