Skip to content
CareRulebook
MenuClose

Where are you starting?

United StatesTexas, North Carolina, Georgia, Virginia, Ohio
United KingdomEngland
Free toolsChecklists, calculators and templates

Georgia · License fees and time frames · 111-8-25-.03

Georgia home care license: cost and timeline

DCH charges a $300 application fee plus $250 a year for each service category you offer, so $550 to $1,050 to apply. The initial review takes 30 business days, then a three-month provisional license runs until your initial survey. Here is every DCH fee, every step and the mistakes that cost money.

  • Rule-verified September 30, 2026
  • Quoted from Chapter 111-8-25 and DCH’s fee notices
  • From DCH’s July 2026 application checklist
A woman planning her Georgia home care agency at a coffee shop window, with a legal pad reading $300 application fee and $250 per service, each year, a calculator and her CareRulebook binder

Quick answer

Cost: Georgia’s Department of Community Health (DCH) charges a $300 application processing fee and a license fee of $250 for each service category (companion or sitter, personal care, nursing), up to $750. The first license fee is the same as the annual fee, so applying costs $550 for one category, $800 for two and $1,050 for all three. Fees are not refundable.

Time: DCH’s initial review takes 30 business days from submission. If approved, a three-month provisional license follows, in which you admit at least three clients and email DCH to request your initial survey. After a successful survey, DCH issues the permanent permit. The license has no expiry date; what recurs is the annual fee, due October 1 to December 31.

DCH does not set the other start-up costs, such as fingerprint checks, a local business license, an RN or staff training.

What DCH charges

Every amount below is a state fee paid to DCH, set in its fee rule, Chapter 111-8-25-.03, and DCH’s Schedule of Licensure Activity Fees. None of them is a CareRulebook price.

What forDCH feeNotesSource
Application processing fee$300Paid when you submit a new application in GAHLES.111-8-25-.03(8)
First license fee$250 per service categoryThe same as the annual fee for each category you apply for. The fee rule has it submitted with the application processing fee, and DCH requires it before the license is issued.111-8-25-.03(8)
Annual license fee$250 per category, up to $750Companion or sitter, personal care and nursing are each a category. Paid October 1 to December 31 for the next calendar year.111-8-25-.03(8)
Late fee+ $150Added automatically on January 1 to an unpaid annual fee. The fee rule lists a $150 late fee for fees 60 days past due, per instance.DCH annual fee notice
Change of ownership$300The application processing fee applies to a change of ownership application, and the previous owner’s past-due fees must be paid first.111-8-25-.03(8)
Change in service level$300For a change that requires an on-site visit. Adding a category also adds its annual fee.111-8-25-.03(8)
Name change$300The application processing fee applies to a name change.111-8-25-.03(8)
Follow-up visit to a periodic inspection$250Billed at the license renewal date.DCH fee schedule
Replacement of a lost permit$50Per request.111-8-25-.03(8)
Involuntary application after an unlicensed complaint investigation$550Charged when DCH finds an agency operating without a license after a complaint.111-8-25-.03(8)

Moving office. DCH’s fee schedule lists no separate fee for a relocation. DCH fee schedule The rules ask for notice instead: "The department shall be provided 15 days notice in advance of any providers change in location." 111-8-65-.05(2)(c) DCH’s checklist lists the documents for a relocation, starting with a current local business license showing the agency’s name and address. DCH checklist Office and premises rules, including moves.

Accreditation discount. The fee rule marks private home care providers as eligible for a discount: "Eligible for a 25% discount if currently accredited by a nationally recognized accreditation organization approved by the department as having standards comparable to specific state licensure requirements", with a complete copy of the current decision sent at renewal or already on file. 111-8-25-.03(8) DCH’s schedule lists ACHC, CARF, CHAP, the Council on Quality and Leadership (CQL) and The Joint Commission as approved for private home care. DCH fee schedule

Refunds. DCH’s checklist is short: "Application fees are non-refundable." The fee rule adds that fees are refunded only in extraordinary circumstances DCH decides on, and that decision cannot be appealed. 111-8-25-.03(8)

What it adds up to, by service category

The $300 application fee plus the first license fee of $250 for each category you apply for. Each later year, only the annual fee recurs.

One service category

for example, companion or sitter only

$550

DCH fees to apply: $300 + $250

$250 DCH annual fee after that

Two service categories

for example, companion and personal care

$800

DCH fees to apply: $300 + $500

$500 DCH annual fee after that

All three categories

companion, personal care and nursing

$1,050

DCH fees to apply: $300 + $750

$750 DCH annual fee after that

DCH fees only, before any accreditation discount. Sources: 111-8-25-.03(8), DCH annual fee notice.

How the annual fee works

Georgia licenses do not expire. DCH says they "have issue dates and no expiration date" and are valid until surrendered or revoked, and "The department does not issue new licenses when annual fees are paid." DCH annual fee notice

  • Your first year. "The initial license fee covers the remaining months of the calendar year the payment was made." DCH
  • Every year after. "The annual fees are collected from October 1st through December 31st each year without penalty." "The renewal fee billed and payable during the renewal period of October through December is for the following calendar year." DCH
  • Paying late. A $150 late fee is added to the unpaid balance on January 1. If annual fees are still unpaid 60 days after a written invoice, DCH may move to revoke the license, after written notice and the chance of a hearing on the amount owed. 111-8-25-.03(7)
  • How to pay. Through DCH’s Healthcare Facility Regulation fee payment portal, by Visa, Mastercard, Discover, American Express or electronic ACH. No cash. Some electronic payments add a convenience charge, which must be disclosed before you pay. DCH 111-8-25-.03(8)

One timing point worth planning for: if your license is issued late in the year, the first fee covers only the remaining months, and the annual fee for the next year is billed from October to December. Budget for both if you apply in the autumn.

Costs DCH does not set

The rules and DCH’s checklist require each of these, but do not state a price. We do not quote typical prices, because they vary and no official source publishes them.

Fingerprint background checks

The administrator and every individual owner of 10% or more need a GCHEXS fingerprint letter at application, and each direct access employee is fingerprinted on hire. Chapter 111-8-12 says a records check application includes "a records search fee to be established by the department by rule and regulation", but the rule does not state the amount.

111-8-12-.03(14); DCH checklist, item 7Background checks, step by step →

A local business license

A current city or county business license with the agency’s name and address. The fee is set by your local government.

DCH checklist, item 4

Business registration

For a corporation, LLC or similar, evidence from the Georgia Secretary of State that it is registered. Filing fees depend on your business structure.

DCH checklist, item 5

Notarized affidavits

The application includes a notarized Affidavit of Personal Identification and a notarized Affidavit of Compliance.

DCH checklist, items 1-3

Aide training

Personal care aides qualify through one of four routes. On the agency route, a 40-hour course run under an RN’s direction, with 20 hours before serving clients.

111-8-65-.09(5)(c)

Bonding and vehicle cover, if they apply

Bond any employee with unlimited access to a client’s funds. If staff drive clients in a vehicle the client does not own, get a signed waiver or make reasonable efforts to confirm motor vehicle insurance. We found no other insurance requirement in Chapter 111-8-65.

111-8-65-.03; .09(4)(c)9

The CareRulebook manual preview on a laptop

CareRulebook

Your written policies, ready before you apply

Your Affidavit of Compliance says the policies already exist. Answer a few questions and CareRulebook writes every policy Chapter 111-8-65 requires for the categories you offer, with your agency’s details filled in and the rule quoted under each one.

  • 25 policies, 52 rule requirements mapped
  • Only the categories you offer: companion, personal care, nursing
  • Editable Word and PDF, delivered instantly
  • 12 months of updates when Georgia changes the rules
Preview your manual

$199CareRulebook founding price for the first 50 Georgia agencies, then $249. Not a DCH fee.

How long it takes, step by step

DCH publishes two time frames: 30 business days for the initial review, and three months on the provisional license. How long preparation takes, and how quickly you admit three clients, is up to you. Tick the steps off as you go; your ticks are saved in this browser only.

  1. Get ready to apply

    Your pace

    Put your policies in place, since DCH expects them to exist when you apply. Get a local business license and, for a company, Secretary of State registration. The administrator and every individual owner of 10% or more get a GCHEXS fingerprint letter dated within 12 months of applying. Line up a Georgia RN, whom DCH requires for every initial application.

  2. Apply and pay in GAHLES

    Day 0

    Submit the application online with the $300 processing fee and the first license fee for each category. After you submit and pay, DCH sends an acknowledgement email.

  3. DCH’s initial review

    30 business days

    Applications are reviewed in the order received. If DCH needs more documents it emails you a link; not uploading them leads to denial.

    DCH checklist, p. 1
  4. Provisional license

    Months 1 to 3

    Once the application is approved, DCH issues a provisional license for three months. In that time you become operational and admit at least three clients.

    DCH checklist, p. 2
  5. Request the initial survey

    Before month 3 ends

    Email the Private Home Care Unit at hfrd.phcp@dch.ga.gov before the three months end. Missing this voids the provisional license.

    DCH checklist, p. 2
  6. Initial survey and permanent permit

    After your request

    After a successful initial survey, DCH issues the permanent permit. If the survey cites a rule, send a plan of correction within 10 days of the report.

  7. Pay the annual fee each year

    Every year

    Between October 1 and December 31, pay $250 for each category you hold, for the next calendar year. The license itself has no expiry date.

    DCH annual fee notice
  8. Re-licensure surveys

    About every 18 to 24 months

    DCH surveys again roughly every 18 to 24 months. Keep serving clients: with none in the three months before a scheduled survey, you get 30 days to admit one.

    DCH checklist, pp. 2-3

More on each stage: the license application, the initial survey and re-licensure surveys, and the free license checklist for your agency.

Mistakes that cost money

Submitting before every document is ready

DCH says an incomplete submission may be delayed or rejected, and may forfeit the application fee. Not uploading documents DCH asks for leads to denial.

DCH checklist, p. 1

Missing the three-month survey request

The provisional license is automatically voided, and a new application and full review are needed to start again.

DCH checklist, p. 2

Paying the annual fee after December 31

A $150 late fee is added on January 1. Leaving it unpaid 60 days after an invoice puts the license at risk.

DCH; 111-8-25-.03(7)

Serving clients before you are licensed

No private home care provider may operate without a license or provisional license. After an unlicensed complaint investigation, DCH’s fee rule lists a $550 involuntary application processing fee.

111-8-65-.05(1); 111-8-25-.03(8)

Needing a follow-up visit

A follow-up visit to a periodic inspection costs $250. A plan of correction you follow on time is the best way to avoid one.

DCH fee schedule

Buying an agency with unpaid fees

All licensure fees, including the previous owner’s past-due fees, must be paid before DCH issues a permit after a change of ownership.

DCH checklist, p. 1

Myths about cost and timing

Are Georgia home care license fees based on staff numbers?

No. Not any more. Older DCH material set fees by staff count. The current fee rule charges $250 a year per service category, up to $750, plus a $300 application processing fee.

"Private Home Care Providers ** Annually For each service offered: Companion Sitter, Personal Care and/or Nursing Maximum of $750 $250 (per service) Annually"

Can you stay on a Georgia provisional license while you find clients?

No. Only for three months. In that time you must admit at least three clients and email DCH to request your initial survey, or the license is automatically voided and you start again.

"The Private Home Care Provisional license will be active for three (3) months by which you must become operational and have admitted at least 3 clients."

Can you write your Georgia policies after you are licensed?

No. With the application you file a notarized Affidavit of Compliance confirming the required policies are already in place. DCH does not ask you to upload them; it checks them at inspection, and deficient policies can bring sanctions.

"hereby attest that in furtherance of its application ... for licensure, said entity has developed policies and procedures mandated under the rules and regulations indicated below."

Adopted July 9, 2026 · effective date not yet confirmed

Does the 2026 rule change affect fees?

No. The 2026 amendment changes rules .03, .05 and .09 of Chapter 111-8-65: background checks and health and TB screening. Fees are set in Chapter 111-8-25, which it does not touch. It may change a hiring cost, though: staff would need a satisfactory fingerprint result before client contact, and the annual TB test gives way to a health screening program.

What the 2026 rule change means for your agency →

Frequently asked questions

How much does a Georgia home care license cost?

DCH charges a $300 application processing fee plus a license fee of $250 for each service category: companion or sitter, personal care and nursing. That makes $550 to apply for one category, $800 for two and $1,050 for all three. After that the license fee is $250 per category each year, up to $750. These are state fees paid to DCH.

How long does it take to get a Georgia private home care license?

DCH’s initial review takes 30 business days from the date you submit. If approved, you get a three-month provisional license, in which you admit at least three clients and email DCH to request your initial survey. The permanent permit follows a successful survey. How long the preparation takes, and how soon you can admit three clients, is up to you.

Do I have to renew a Georgia home care license every year?

There is no renewal application. DCH licenses have issue dates and no expiration date, and stay valid until surrendered or revoked. What recurs is the annual license fee, paid October 1 to December 31 for the next calendar year, with a $150 late fee added on January 1.

Are Georgia license fees refundable?

No. DCH’s checklist says application fees are not refundable, and the fee rule says fees are not refunded except in extraordinary circumstances that DCH decides on, with no appeal.

Do Georgia home care license fees depend on the number of staff?

No. The current fee rule charges per service category: $250 a year for each, up to $750, plus the $300 application processing fee.

Is there a discount for accredited agencies?

The fee rule marks the private home care annual license fee as eligible for a 25% discount if the agency is currently accredited by an organization DCH approves and sends a complete copy of the current decision at renewal, or already has it on file with DCH. DCH’s fee schedule lists ACHC, CARF, CHAP, the Council on Quality and Leadership and The Joint Commission for private home care.

How much does the fingerprint background check cost?

Chapter 111-8-12 defines a records check application as fingerprints plus a records search fee set by DCH, but the rule text does not state the amount. GCHEXS questions go to DCH’s Office of Inspector General on 404-463-7154 or gchexs.user@dch.ga.gov.

How do I pay DCH’s fees?

Annual fees are paid through the fee payment portal on DCH’s Healthcare Facility Regulation website, by Visa, Mastercard, Discover, American Express or electronic ACH. DCH does not accept cash, and some electronic payments can add a convenience charge, which must be shown to you before you pay.

Know when Georgia’s fees or rules change

Leave your email and we will tell you when DCH changes its fees, confirms when the 2026 amendment takes effect, or changes a rule that affects your policies.

No spam. Only emails about Georgia home care rule changes. How we use your email.

Keep reading

Sources

  1. Ga. Comp. R. & Regs. Chapter 111-8-65, Rules and Regulations for Private Home Care Providers · Georgia DCH (text via Cornell LII, checked against the Secretary of State text) · retrieved September 30, 2026
  2. Ga. Comp. R. & Regs. Chapter 111-8-25, General Licensing and Enforcement Requirements (incl. 111-8-25-.03 fees) · Georgia DCH (text via Cornell LII, checked against the Secretary of State text) · retrieved September 30, 2026
  3. Ga. Comp. R. & Regs. Chapter 111-8-12, Rules and Regulations for Criminal Background Checks · Georgia DCH (text via Cornell LII) · retrieved September 30, 2026
  4. Private Home Care Providers Application Checklist (July 2026) · Georgia Department of Community Health · retrieved September 30, 2026
  5. Annual License Fee Payments and Schedule of Licensure Activity Fees (October 2024) · Georgia Department of Community Health · retrieved September 30, 2026
Build your Georgia manualfrom $199